It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:52 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: fuel reserves
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:05 am 

State/Province: IN
City: Bloomington
Hey,
Im new to motorcycles and I know that I have a fuel reserve but how do I use it? Does it shift over automaticly? I have a 99 honda rebel 250. I get about 110 miles to the tank.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:28 am 

Motorcycle: Kawasaki Vulcan 500
Rebel: Other
State/Province: VA
City: Roanoke
You have a control lever on the left hand side (as you sit on the bike) of the fuel tank. It switches between three positions. On, Reserve, and Off. In the Off position, fuel cannot flow from the tank to the carburetors. The On and Reserve position both allow fuel to flow, but the On position pulls from an elevated position inside the tank. Because of this, when the fuel goes below that position (leaving approx. .7 gallons in the tank), the bike will sputter and eventually die. As soon as you notice any sputtering, switch the lever to Reserve. You now know that you have a minimal amount of fuel remaining to get you to a gas station. When you fill up, flip the lever back to the normal On position so you'll have the same warning next time.

You should practice flipping the lever while riding so it's a procedure you're comfortable performing.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:40 am 

Rebel: None
State/Province: TX
City: Round Rock
What fastpaker said. :)

Welcome to the forum :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:17 am 

Motorcycle: 2006 Rebel 250
Rebel: 250
State/Province: GA
City: Metro Atlanta
Welcome! :wave:

Definitely practice. The first time this happened to me on my first tank of gas I had to pull over to find the lever :oops:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:24 pm 

Thanks guys!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:53 am