It is currently Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Rebel 250 - seems unsatable on highway - is it safe?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 3:27 pm 

Motorcycle: 2001 Honda Rebel 250
Rebel: 250
State/Province: MN
City: Maplewood
Hi gang,

I just went motorcycle camping with my sons. They have larger bikes (Honda Magna, Kawasaki Vulcan) than I do. None of us have windshields. I felt very buffeted, and at times I felt like I was gong to be lifted off the road and moved. It wasn't a fun sensation. I was nerve-wracking actually. This is my first year of riding at 57 years old.

They think I may be over-reacting due to my inexperience, but I wonder if riding this bike on the highway while wearing a backpack is a very smart idea.

Thoughts?

Gary

Post subject: Re: Rebel 250 - seems unsatable on highway - is it safe?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:35 pm 
Forum Administrator

Motorcycle: 98 Valkyrie
State/Province: GA
City: Vidalia
Wearing a backpack on any bike isn't the best idea; it negative affects your balance, raises your center of gravity considerably, and greatly increases your sail area. Making matters worse, it's not particularly stable: it will move a bit and shift a bit with each lean and gust.

As far as whether or not a Rebel is highway safe, there's a bunch of us who have been highway riding on them for years; some of us for a couple of decades.

Contrary to the ever-present noise to the contrary, bike size in absolutely _no_ way affects the stability of a bike. After all, it's still all that weight propped up on two wheels. There's a much, much longer post here that delves into taking apart the myth, but suffice it to say that the only thing a larger bike does is fool you a bit; it's no more stable.

Duke
"Skills must be Learned"
------ Herb Christian

"Ask your doctor if medical advice from a television commercial is right for _you_."

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:14 pm 
Forum Moderator

Motorcycle: Rebel 250 plus a few others