It is currently Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Rebel 250 Enough Power?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:10 pm 

Rebel: None
State/Province: OH
City: Cincinnati
I am looking into purchasing a rebel 250 at the beginning of the summer for getting to and from work (im a poor college student and gas is expensive). My question is, I live in an EXTREMELY hilly area, so to get home i will have to go up a very steep hilly road for about a half mile (from a stop sign at the bottom) so my questions are:

1 will it be able to get me up (i weigh about 170)
2 if so any shifting tips to help me do so smoothly?

Post subject: Re: Rebel 250 Enough Power?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:22 pm 
Forum Moderator

Motorcycle: Rebel 250 plus a few others
Rebel: 250
State/Province: NB
City: Fredericton
Yes it will take you up any kind of hill for a half mile. Take an MSF course. they will teach you all you need to know about shifting smoothly and a lot of other important stuff.

1996 Ducati 900SS
1973 Norton 850 Interstate

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:04 am 

State/Province: MA
City: Amherst
Last summer I weighed around 250 pounds. My rebel would happily pull me up to around 65mph on the highway. It also kept up with traffic on a road that's usually 45-50mph and quite hilly (route 202 near New Salem and Shutesbury, MA) just fine.

I wouldn't worry about it, since you weigh a lot less than I did.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:16 am 

Depends on how steep and how fast you're looking to go.

I've encountered some issues climbing on the Interstate near Asheville, NC, where the relatively level lands suddenly begin to sharply rise on a road where everyone is chugging along at 70-80mph. This was a new bike at the time, and I found myself having to drop down to fourth gear in order to have enough power to keep up with the speeding traffic (I managed to push about 55-60mph on the upper end of fourth).